An Actual Dream


Notebook
Pen
Pot of coffee
Carton of smokes

Alone in this restaurant waiting for you

Finally face to face
Ready to write

Minutes pass…
No concern…

An hour goes by
I begin to watch the door
My foot-tap-tap-tap on the floor

Three hours pass
Darkness descends

Now loosing all hope
Damn!!!
I should have known!!!

All I wanted to do was write with you
To create something great
A perfect poem if we could collaborate

Slowly now I awake from this dream
Face flush
Hands sweating

Mind oh so clear

Understanding exactly why you never showed

You so young
I so old

Saddened by this reality
By this dream
I wrote this poem

And to say…

All I wanted to do was sit at a table and write with you

Nothing less…
Nothing more…

Leave a Reply

