Once I had you

Held you

Smiled and bled for you

Once I hung on every word

Studied it

Dissected it

Picked it for every hidden meaning

Once I would have

Left this

Turned my back

Given up everything

Walked with you into the unknown

Built your confidence

Wiped your tears

Made you whole

Once I would have done this

But strangely glad I did not

Because now

Looking back

Smiling a bit and shaking my head

Satisfaction in knowing

It was you

Not I

That vanished

Instantly

Without warning

Breaking a promise

Null and voiding

You

From my memory

And that special place I held you

Deep within my heart…

Leave a Reply

