Why Me?


Why me?

Why must you tell me these things?

These stories

Stories of death

Destruction

Murder

Mayhem

Explosions

Screaming children

Mutilated limbs

Poverty

Civil war society

Centuries of animosity

Yet in a haggard face

Seeing hope

An end to the madness

Why me?

Why must you tell me these things?

These stories

These stories of war

Confiding in me

Trusting me with dark things forever burned into your mind

Why me?

I don’t understand

Nor will I ever

For my friend

You have seen combat

I have not…

Leave a Reply

